Dearest Daughter: 14 years 8 months (EXACTLY)

Good evening baby girl,

Exactly 14 years and 8 months ago you were born in Waco, Tx. LOL I remember thinking my baby is going to be a Waconian. Jesus lawd noooooooooooo! It’s not a bad place but when you were born Baylor hadn’t fully taken over Waco yet. Businesses closed at 18:00 everyday. It just wasn’t the Baylor metropolitan it is today. Be proud of your hometown though. With the athletic success of my Baylor Bears, Waco is finally on the map.

Anyway, my mom tells me you were just inducted into the National Junior Honor Society. I’m so very proud of you. I always knew you’d be an intelligent child. As your auntie said when I told her, like mother like daughter. I haven’t even officially met you and I feel like we’re more alike than I ever even imagine. I know, being that you are a teenager, I’m sure you’d rather not be like your mother but you are honey. Perhaps more than either of us will ever know.

Speaking of being like me, since there are only four more months until your fifteenth birthday, have you started counting down and reminding people that your birthday is coming up yet? There’s nothing more joyful or exciting than a person’s birthday. It’s your very own holiday and everyone makes a big fuss about you and your birthday. What’s special about your birthday this year is that you’ll be 15 on the 15th in 2015 which doesn’t happen to very often. Man, you’re going to be 15! Where did time go?!?! So much time has passed and yet time seems to stand still when I think about you.

Hope you had a great day in school today. I’m sure you’re counting down the days, hours and seconds until the last bell rings on the last day of school. I was the same way when I was your age.

I love you dearly!
Mami

Tell Me What You Think...

