I. Am. Not. Crazy. Or Am I?

Design and pagination is a passion of mine. By passion, I actually mean an obsession. Lemme explain…

When most people look at the newspaper, they don’t look how the articles are laid out. They don’t notice the huge amounts of white space in the lower left corner that could have easily been filled by changing the size and/or direction of an article or by inserting a business card size advertisement. Most people don’t look at the headlines and count the number of character or let the fact that the color pictures look out of focus. And don’t get me started on magazines.

My non-creative friends get mad at me because I’m a bit of a writing/design nazi. I can’t help myself. My journalism professors at Baylor and my art/yearbook advisor from high school drilled the concepts of smooth flow and perfection into my design/pagination/writing mind. I synonymously equate all bad design and pagination to horrible writing, bad marketing and ineffective advertising. Hence, the reason why I have changed my blog theme more than a hoe changing his or her drawers between fucks. LOL I know that’s a horrible analogy

When I joined the BlogHer NaBloPoMo blog roll yesterday, I immediately started rethinking grand scheme of my blog. Was it visually appealing? Can visitors navigate easily between my posts? Do the titles of the widgets make since? Is the size of the blog title and tag line not too big or too small? How does my blog appear to those reading on their iDevices? All these questions had me CrAzY the entire afternoon, on my way to pick up boo and throughout he night!

I. Must. Be. Owt. My. Damn. Mind! Right?

Of course I am. There is no other excuse for the tendency to have extreme obsessive compulsive behavior when thinking about design/pagination. lol as if i’m some sort of psychologist. just call me Dr. S. Yankee

But am I wrong for wanting to produce a presentable and polished body of work? I mean, okay so I DO make writing mistakes all the time. And my sister has to send me IMs saying um did you mean this? and what about that? and consider rewording to say this this and that! you know i love you guh! But that’s different because I’ve never been able to edit my own work. I’m getting better about self editing but I know when I write my book my sister will HAVE to be my editor. i will NOT take no for an answer sis!

Okay now I’m rambling and not making any sense!

My point is in this quest to boost readership, promote my blog and become a better writer, I ask that you guys be patient with me. I’m extremely anal retentive about the design of my blog because I want something that’ll reflect the words I write and my personality. The last theme did that but it wasn’t as easy to navigate around as I would have liked it to be. But I’m learning and at some point I will be to present a suitable to me blog theme.

in the meantime, thank you soooooo very much for reading…

The Southern Yankee

Tell Me What You Think...

