Sunday Funday Wash Day… Um NOT!

Sundays are usually when I get off my lazy behind to give Luquisha Renáe a good ole washing. Mind you that’s usually. There are weeks when I don’t want to be bothered with washing Luquisha because it’s so time consuming. I figure the longer she get the longer it’ll take to wash and detangle.

dear gawd why?!?! sad face sad face

Please don’t mind my whining in this post. I do love being natural and being able to rock a bitchin’ fro… I just hate the process of getting to that awesome bad ass fro.

Take today for example. I started pre-pooing my hair around 13:30. I dry divided my hair into 15 sections. Once I finished dividing my hair, I proceeded to apply Garnier Fructis Marvelous Oil Deep Nourish, a coconut and jojoba oil and water mixture and SheaMoisture Coconut & Hibiscus Conditioner to each individual section. Once each section was fully saturated with the above, I two strand twisted each section or a divided section and pinned them into Bantu knots. All of that took three hours and fifteen minutes which was about 16:45.

I ran around the house for a few minutes to let my hair set and soak up the pre-poo. Then I took out the bobby pins so I could take a shower which always takes thirty minutes. I’m just good like that.

I partially dried maybe 80% my hair with a towel and put a palm full of Miss Jessie’s Leave In Condish. I sat in my room for a bit then applied another palm full of the Leave In Condish. By this time it was 18:10. Since I needed to go buy gas for my truck, I put Luquisha in a plastic shower cap, put my new beanie over the shower cap and went to the Shell station up the street.

lol I know you are prolly getting bored with this long winded narrative but it’s to prove a point. Work wit me!!

I went and came back. My brother and his youngest were walking in the house so of course I played with my hunky little nephew for a little bit; who was wearing his new JJ Swatt jersey!!! They didn’t stay long so that maybe delayed me ten more minutes.

I think I started the final process of auctioning my hair and applying SheaMoisture Coconut & Hibiscus Milk and Cantu Shea Butter Coconut Curling Cream can y’all tell I love products with coconut?! to my hair and two strand twists with Bantu knots. Towards the end of it all, I got really lazy and my hair was getting really dry and twisted the remaining hair in Bantu knots only. I finally finished my hair at 20:54.

20 fucking 54!!!

Sigh yes I know Luquisha will thank me later for taking almost a full work day to wash, detangle and protective style her but damn!!! It never ceases to amaze me what naturals go through just to maintain their kinky/curly/coily manes. I’ve mentioned before that I’m extremely lazy when it comes to Luquisha. I’ve always had a less is more attitude when it comes to hair and beauty even though I’ve mildly aspired to be less lazy. by less I mean a whopping 2% less lol

Okay okay that concludes my wash day rant. I promise these will be kept to a maximum of four a year.

Thanks for reading…

The Southern Yankee

Tell Me What You Think...

