Johnny Flopball

Has anyone seen this story?

How the hell is a rookie who hasn’t played a single minute in a National Football League game have the TOP selling jersey above veterans like Peyton muthafuckin Manning, Drew Brees, JJ Watt, Clay Matthews or even Tom Brady. I wouldn’t by his jersey but some po schmuck would

I have to agree with PK that doesn’t happen often when he said he hasn’t done anything in the NFL to warrant fans buying so many of his jersey. Of course, we all know why his jersey is being sold faster than water, batteries and non perishable foods before, during and after a natural disaster. Aggies fuckin cult will support that arrogant little shit no matter what! But I get it! Believe me I do. I grew up in Texas. I know and understand how important football is to my fellow Texans. I get how schools like A&M have rich and deeply rooted traditions and revelry. In fact, I almost admire it. I said almost!

I also get that the city of Cleveland hasn’t had this much excitement in… Well… Um… Ever! Let me be quite clear when I say LeBresha don’t count towards the excitement. His bitch ass left them for sunny Miami and is crawling back when he didn’t win another championship in June. That’s not admirable that’s just being greedy. can y’all tell I’m not

But back to PK’s original point. Johnny Manziel hasn’t done anything to deserve such an honor. He hasn’t thrown for 300+ yards in a single game or broken away from the likes of JJ Watt, Clay Matthews, Ndamukong Suh or Terrell Suggs. Yes he has the ability to extend plays and get the ball down the field… in a college football game. Yes he has quick feet and can out run linebackers like he runnin’ from the po-lice. But that’s in COLLEGE. Are you guys listening? He can do almost everything in a college football setting.

How many rookie NFL players have a phenomenal rookie season right off the bench? How many rookie quarterbacks play like Peyton Manning or Drew Brees? um now and not at the beginning of their career What recent or up in coming QB can even measure up to Joe Montana, Brett Favre, John Elway or Johnny Unitas? Seriously people tell me.

While Johnny Manziel has talent and possibly the potential to be better than he is currently, he’s not a NFL QB. He doesn’t seem to have the discipline or the maturity to be a quarterback in the National Football League. Yes I realize he’s part of a new breed of professional football players but honestly to paraphrase one of my favorite players “a football player only has a limited time to play in the league. Better to do the job now and have fun after.” And he’s right! On any given Sunday, as well as Monday or Thursday a player can sustain such an injury that it could take out for a season or their career! Look at Brian Cushing of the Houston Texans. He’s had not one but two season ending injuries. TWO! The poor guy was put on the physically unable to perform list and camp hasn’t even started yet.

I dunno football fans. I could be completely wrong about Manziel. yes I would admit it if I am I just don’t feel he’s too much of a casualty fir the NFL. He’s not mature. He doesn’t give a shit about learning about his craft or about trying to get better for that matter.

Take for example Case Keenum. yes I’m partial to the Houston Texans Case, a former University of Houston standout and NCAA record breaker, is a prime example of QB who studies the game to no end. Yes his quote unquote “rookie” season actually playing wasn’t the best, but he still strives to get better. Not that he seems like the type of guy who would be partying with the likes of Drake and other celebrities like Manziel does but still. He knows that if he wants to be taken seriously as a NFL quarterback that he has to work hard during the off season, training camp and pre season practice to be ready for the regular season. But that goes for any player in any sport. If you’re not bringing your A game, you’re not going to play or be as great as you and yo mama think you are or can be. y’all know I’m right!

For his sake, I hope Manziel wakes up and realizes he’s been given an opportunity most players don’t get. He left college as a sophomore so he doesn’t have a degree to fall back on. He’s dumb young. He flaked at the Manning’s quarterback camp!!!! I’m not gon even touch that! He is photographed e’rywhur but in the gym or on the football field. He’s a kid in a big boy’s world and frankly he’s not doing anything to prove he deserves to be there!

Thanks for reading…

The Southern Yankee

Tell Me What You Think...

