I Am Woman… Hear Me Rawr!

Lemme ask you guys a few questions.

Why is it so hard to separate chu’ch and state?

Why are the men of this country and the world for that matter making decisions about women’s health and rights when they don’t know the first thing about being female?

What gives anyone the right to know the private business of another person if the two or more people aren’t fuckin?

Can you tell I’m a little miffed today? No… Well keep reading and I’ll explain why I’m a little hostile.

The news of the SCOTUS decision to allow Hobby Lobby and corporations like it to restrict insurance coverage of birth control and other contraceptive methods due to their PERSONAL religious beliefs really struck a damn nerve. The ramifications of this decision are so incredibly high and no one on the side of Hobby Lobby really understands why. Think about it folks. What happens if a woman who can’t afford birth control becomes pregnant? What happens if that same woman, who obviously can’t afford to take of herself, can’t take care of the baby she did not want in the first place? What happens to that baby? So many questions yet hardly any suitable answers.

It disturbs me greatly that women have no real say what is best for THEIR individual bodies. It bothers even more there are women who fall right along with the men making the decisions about other women’s well being.

20140702-081912-29952668.jpg

It bothers me that the women in the above picture are celebrating a decision that could affect them and women around them personally. How is being pro-life as it pertains to abortion and not to the actual having a life being pro-woman? Are the women in the picture really for the rights of a woman who may need birth control to make her menstrual cycle regular? Do they understand the notion that birth control can help to prevent the occurrence of teen pregnancies and the influx of children being born to women who do not want them or cannot afford them? What about rape victims? Don’t tell me… the rape is the woman’s fault and it is God’s will a woman carries a child who is the result of an intrusive and vile act of violence and cruelty. why do some people believe that shit?

Sigh…

I am not certain of the country we live in anymore. I am not certain that my daughter and nieces will have a fighting chance to be the smart, intelligent, outgoing and independent young women they have the potential to be because they will be subject to an unrealistic misogynistic and/or evangelical notion of how a woman should exist in the world. I’m worried that as my sisters, friends and I get older will not be able to receive proper medical treatment because of someone else’s religious views. Am I the only person that sees that happening if SCOTUS decisions such as the Hobby Lobby continue to happen in the future?

Perhaps I am wrong to believe that no one in this world has a right to tell me what I can and cannot do and what is right for me, myself and I. I walk in my size 11 shoes everyday. I put on my size 22 pants one leg at a time by my damn self. I work hard to succeed in life, live and pay my damn bills on time. So why do I feel like my basic of basic rights as a human being, a citizen of the United States of America and a woman are slowly diminishing because someone else’s religious views are more important than what I know to be best for me, myself and I?

Thanks for reading…

The Southern Yankee

One thought on “I Am Woman… Hear Me Rawr!

Tell Me What You Think...

