Day 6: A Song that Reminds You of a Best Friend

You know something? I’m blessed to have more than one person that I can call my best friend which makes my life very interesting because I have a different relationship with each person. I’m also a different person with each of my best friends. Yes that is possible and yes I am indeed a bit loca but hey at least I’ve never had a dull moment in my life.

So here are the songs that remind me of the people who know me best!

Cindy – Wavin’ Flag by K’Naan & David Bisbal
While this song was not the official song of the 2010 FIFA World Cup, it really popular on the radio and in the Coca Cola commercials for the FIFA World Cup games. Well when the Coca Cola FIFA World Cup tour came through Houston, Cindy and I attended the festivities. That was probably the best day ever because not only did we get to experience this once in a lifetime opportunity but we saw K’Naan and David Bisbal perform live in concert POR GRATIS!!!! LOL some of the people around didn’t know what to do with Cindy because she werkin and shakin it fast like no one would believe. #girlfriendcanmove

Chasity – Techno Cumbia by Selena
If you’re from Texas or know anything about Texas musicians, in particular the many Tejano/Banda/Ranchero groups, then you should know Selena Quintanilla-Perez. When Chasity and I were sophomores in high school, Chasity tried out to be the mascot. If I remember right, this is the song she used to tryout. How I wish she would have made it but at least she tried right?

Cheri – I’m Gonna Buy Me A Dog by The Monkees
When I first heard this song, I think Cheri and I were on one of our many road trips to San Marcos. I couldn’t stop laughing because it was the craziest song I had ever heard. To this day, I laugh and singalong like Cheri and I have done some many times before.

Amy – Redneck Woman by Gretchen Wilson
What I love most about Amy is that she will and forever be a country girl. She’s the youngest of my friends from high school. I’ll admit even though we’ve known each other the longest, we have not always been as close as we are now. See we almost lost her three years ago. I haven’t been that heart broken since Granny passed away. But thank God she pulled through. Thank God I got another chance to be a better friend to this wonderful woman. Plus I get to be Aunt Cara to her beautiful daughter Miracle and son Grant.

Thanks for reading…

The Southern Yankee

One thought on “Day 6: A Song that Reminds You of a Best Friend

Tell Me What You Think...

