Day 28: What’s the Best Thing Going For You

I think for the first time in my thirty-four whoa I actually listed my age. I don’t usually do that. EVER! of life I actually feel good about myself. I mean of course I have my fair share of issues and doubts about life, myself, the people I have chosen to remain in my life and my career but who doesn’t have those doubts. I am like every other person in this world between the ages of 18-35. We all want more than our parents and grandparents had at our age.

Twelve years ago, I planned to be this successful journalist/writer who worked for the New York Times or Los Angeles Times. I dreamed of winning a Pulitzer. I wanted so much more than I had or have but I’ve learned that everything happens for a reason. Everything that has happened up to this point in my life, whether it be good, bad and fugly, has happened for a reason. Perhaps I was meant to have a supervisor that tries my patience so I could learn some much needed patience. Perhaps I was also meant to be of great importance to a few and not to the world like the Obamas or Martin Luther King, Jr.

My dreams have never gone away nor do I think The Lord will let me give up on my dreams. Perhaps my dreams aren’t what I thought them to be so many years ago when I was graduating high school and entering college the first time around. I can honestly say some of the dreams and aspirations I have now are not at all what I envisioned for myself. Some of them I fought to accept because I didn’t want to follow in anyone’s footsteps. I wanted and still do somewhat to make my own paths. To put my twenty-two cents in where I went instead of the quarter and half dollar being given to me. This world is full of possibility and until now I thought I had to grab all the possibilities and opportunities I could before I reached a certain age. The truth of the matter is that I don’t have to accomplish everything by thirty-five years of age. which is ten months away from this coming Sunday.

I don’t have to rush through life nor do I have to prove anything to anyone anymore. The best thing I have going for me right now is the fact that I know I don’t have to be perfect or someone’s puppet just to be happy. I can be happy no matter where I am or whom I’m with or what I’m doing. It took a lifetime to realize that and I hope that it doesn’t take another lifetime to maintain it peacefully.

Thanks for reading…

The Southern Yankee

One thought on “Day 28: What’s the Best Thing Going For You

  1. I love this post–it’s got great wisdom. 🙂 I think we adjust our dreams as life happens, and we learn to honor who God made us to be, even when we don’t match up to what we thought we’d be.

    I had a mentor who would always say to me “Just be because you are.” Meaning, don’t try so hard! Just do you what you do and do it well, the rest will follow. You are a great example of just that!

    Like

Tell Me What You Think...

