Day 24: Make a play list to someone, and explain why you chose all the songs

My dearest little one,

For almost thirteen years now, I have been trying to figure out a way to describe my personality to you.

I thought about writing you a letter or a poem but I could never make it to the end of either without crying my eyes out.

So since I do not want to cry, I decided to make you a playlist. I cannot even begin to tell you how much I love music. My iTunes library contains approximately three thousand songs that are divided into sixty six genres and nine hundred seven artists. Trust me when I say Music is My Aeroplane. Much like writing, music plays a major role in my life, moods, with my emotions and my personality.

Hopefully the songs and explanations below will give you some sort of insight into what kind of person I am because it represents my childhood, teenage/high school years, Baylor, your birth, my Granny (your great grandmother on the Latimer side), your aunts and uncles and tons of our quirky things about me that would take much long to tell you than a few lines of a blog post.

Hope you enjoy baby girl. It is only the tip of the iceberg.

Love, Mami

 

Siri: Play Music About My Identity

  • Rhapsody in Blue – George Gershwin
  • My Girl – The Temptations
  • Music is my Aeroplance – Red Hot Chili Peppers
  • Take a Chance On Me – ABBA
  • Rolling in the Deep – Adele
  • You Learn – Alanis Morissette
  • Superwoman – Alicia Keys
  • Sweet Pea – Amos Lee
  • Ring My Bell – Anita Ward
  • Playground – ABC
  • Respect – Aretha Franklin
  • DJ Jazzy Jeff & the Fresh Prince – Summertime
  • Love Shack – The B-52’s
  • Walk Like an Egyptian – The Bangles
  • I Only Have Eyes for You – Billie Holiday
  • My Prerogative – Bobby Brown
  • Closer to Free – BoDeans
  • Foe Tha Love of $ – Bone Thugs-N-Harmony
  • Motownphilly – Boyz II Men
  • Yesterday – Boyz II Men
  • Boot Scoot Boogie – Brooks & Dunn
  • Word Up – Cameo
  • Guantanamera – Celia Cruz
  • Beautiful – Christina Aguilera
  • Fighter – Gym Class Heroes
  • Pump Up the Volume – Colourbox
  • Brick House – The Coommodores
  • The Light – Common
  • Dreams – The Cranberries
  • Girls Just Wanna Have Fun – Cyndi Lauper
  • Insane in the Brain – Cypress Hill
  • Crash – Dave Matthews Band
  • Me, Myself and I – De La Soul
  • Groove Is in the Heart – Deee-Lite
  • Just Can’t Get Enough – Depeche Mode
  • Say My Name – Destiny’s Child
  • Rebirth of Slick (Cool Like Dat) – Digable Planets
  • Hopeless – Dionne Farris
  • I Love You Always and Forever – Donna Lewis
  • In a Sentimental Mood – Duke Ellington
  • Hotel California – Eagles
  • September – Earth, Wind & Fire
  • I’m Blue – Eiffel 65
  • Blue Skies – Ella Fitzgerald
  • Hold On – En Vogue
  • Killing Me Softly – Fugees (Refugee Camp)
  • I Don’t Wanna Be – Gavin DeGraw
  • When I Come Around – Green Day
  • I Like the Way – Hi Five
  • Hold My Hand – Hootie & the Blowfish
  • Jump Around – House of Pain
  • Proud Mary – Ike & Tina Turner
  • Here Comes the Hotstepper – Ini Kamoze
  • Just Wanna Say – Israel Houghton
  • Saved By Grace – Israel Houghton
  • Tightrope – Janelle Monae
  • Papa Don’t Preach – Madonna
  • That’s the Way Love Goes – Janet Jackson
  • Piece of my Heart – Janis Joplin
  • On to the Next One – Jay-Z
  • Price Tag – Jessie J
  • Getting In The Way – Jill Scott
  • Ordinary People – John Legend
  • Cry Me a River – Justin Timberlake
  • Tell Me It’s Real – Kci & JoJo
  • His Eye Is On the Sparrow – Kirk Franklin
  • Cherish – Kool & The Gang
  • Can’t Take My Eyes Off Of You – Lauryn Hill
  • Fly Away – Lenny Kravitz
  • Are You Gonna Go My Way – Lenny Kravitz
  • Somewhere I Belong – Linkin Park
  • Funky Town – Lipps Inc
  • Mama Said Knock You Out – LL Cool J
  • When You’re Smiling – Louis Armstong
  • Southern Hospitality – Ludacris
  • Real Love – Mary J Blige
  • U Can’t Touch This – MC Hammer
  • The Impression That I Get – Mighty Mighty Bosstones
  • Beat It – Michael Jackson
  • PYT (Pretty Young Thing) – Michael Jackson
  • Thriller – Michael Jackson
  • Let It Bump – Missy Elliott
  • Funky Fresh Dressed feat Ms. Jade – Missy Elliott
  • Go To The Floor – Missy Elliott
  • Sock It 2 Me feat Da Brat – Missy Elliott
  • Float On – Modest Mouse
  • Gonna Buy Me A Dog – The Monkees
  • Tomorrow’s Gonna Be Another Day – The Monkees
  • To Be With You – Mr. Big
  • Torn – Nathalie Imbruglia
  • O.P.P. – Naughty by Nature
  • Don’t Speak – No Doubt
  • Spiderwebs – No Doubt
  • Sunday Morning – No Doubt
  • Ex-Girlfriend – No Doubt
  • Techno Cumbia – Selena
  • No Me Queda Mas – Selena
  • I’ll Remember – Madonna
  • Sober – P!nk
  • Secrets – OneRepublic
  • Peach – Prince
  • Kiss – Prince
  • Can’t Stop – Red Hot Chili Peppers

 

Thanks for reading…

The Southern Yankee

2 thoughts on “Day 24: Make a play list to someone, and explain why you chose all the songs

  1. I LOVE your playlist!! I, too, am moved by music. It soothes, it heals, it inspires… I love that your list has a diverse collection of genres and artists (including some of my faves!). And you’ve reminded me of artists that had completely faded into memory, like Nathalie Imbruglia–what ever happened to her?? Your list also sent me into reminisce-tion– I was reminded of some good times (classic times) in high school.

    But to the reason why this lists exists and the purpose of this post– I honor your signature as “Mami,” and I feel lucky to witness an intimate exchange between you and your special girl. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

  2. Hello there I am so happy I found your web site, I really found you by mistake, while I was searching on Yahoo for something else, Regardless I am here now and
    would just like to say thanks for a tremendous post and a all round interesting
    blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to go through it all at the moment but I have bookmarked it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the fantastic job.

    Like

Tell Me What You Think...

