Day 21: (scenario) Your Best Friend is in a car accident and you got into a fight an hour before. What do you do?

I’m not even sure how to begin this post.

I realize this is a scenario but at the same time, it is a scenario that I definitely have never thought about. Something that I’m fairly certain would rock me to the core of my being. See my friends, the few close friends that I do have, are like my family. As mentioned in several previous posts, I grew up an only child. My mother didn’t remarry at an age where she would have considered having another child. So to fill the void for desperately wanting siblings, my friends became somewhat like my family. For the most part, we all went to the same school. Four of us started kindergarten together and the other one came when we were freshman in high school. It was in our high school years that we realized that our friendship would last beyond graduation day and even beyond college. I counted on these girls for more than a pep talk when I was down or for a warm place to stay when I had issues with my family. These girls were (and still are) everything to me. Their children will be spoiled rotten by their Aunt Cara. Their husbands and I will bond because I’m the tomboy of the group and have a love/extreme hate relationship with any and everything girlie.

However, if one of them were in a car accident, regardless the severity, I’m not sure what I would do. It should go without saying that my life would be an utter mess. I can honestly say I am not completely certain if she would blame me for the accident or even forgive me for the argument because knowing my uncontrollable often malfunctioning filter, I would have said the unthinkable. I tend to fire the heavy guns when I feel attacked.
Learned how to do that from the old battleax!

Don’t get me wrong I love a good wholesome fight with my sisters especially if it is a fight I know I could win. Of course, the flip side of fighting with my sisters is that we know too much about each other. Shit our parents don’t even nor do they ever need to know about. Well imagine being in a heated argument with someone who knows every dark not so proud of secret. Imagine how heightened our emotions would be. Imagine the aftermath of such an argument. Regardless of how the scenario would play out, I would feel responsible somehow and would want to do anything to make everything right again between us again.

That’s what real friends do right? Thankfully this has never happened to me before. And as I knock heavily on wood, I pray that it will never happen because I cannot imagine my life without my friends.

Thanks for reading…

The Southern Yankee

Tell Me What You Think...

