Day 18: Your View On Gay Marriage

Disclaimer: if anyone feels the need to comment negatively on this post, then don’t! Your comments will not see the light of day and will never be spoken of ever again. So please focus your time and energy on something else! Thanks, management!

Get ready folks I’m about to go on a serious rant and soapbox.

The Bible says in John 8:7 “Let he who is without sin cast the first stone…” Meditate on that for a moment please. Notice the word ‘without’ is underlined. So you mean to tell me that every person who opposes same sex marriage and homosexuality are completely without sin. That the hate speech spewing from the mouths of these people and sometimes their children is not considered sinful. If we were to follow the Bible literally, then I would argue hate speech (of any kind) violates this commandment: “Thou show not bear false witness against thy neighbor” (Exodus 20:16). The whole notion of “God hates the gays” is completely false. “For God so loved the world, he gave his only begotten Son that that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life” (John 3:16).

I could go on but I think I have clearly made my point.

So my view on gay marriage is this… who the FUCK cares?! Why does it really matter if two men or two females want to get married? I honestly could care less if two people of the same sex got married in this country so as long as the two people love and complete each other. Isn’t that what love is supposed to be about? Love and respect. Sickness and health. Support and compassion. Why wouldn’t anyone want to have that “crazy love”? Why wouldn’t two people want to have what some of our grandparents had in the 20s, 30s and 40s? Geez people got married after knowing each other for days, weeks and months back then. It wasn’t anything to get married on a whim because it was love at first sight.

So why can’t the LGBTQIA community have that? Everyone deserves to be and feel what it is like to be in love. Every individual (gay or straight) deserves to decide whether or not it is right for him or herself. I don’t appreciate some random stranger or the government telling me who I can and cannot marry. I also don’t appreciate conservatives saying same sex marriage ruins the sanctity of marriage. If you ask me, there is no sanctity of marriage. It aggravates me to no end that most about opponents of same sex marriage focus primarily on the sexual aspect of the relationship. There are plenty of heterosexual men and women who like to fuck around for the hell of it. There is a HOE in every sexual orientation and/or identity. And isn’t it funny that the people who are crying wolf are most likely the fuckers out there hoing around the most?!

The Bible says “Thou shalt not commit adultery” (Exodus 20:14) yet how many people (hetero and homosexual alike) cheat on their boyfriends, girlfriends or spouses? Correct me if I am wrong but that’s a sin.

In my opinion, those opposed to same sex marriage need to butt the hell out of relationships that have NOTHING AT ALL to do with them. Please stop spewing and influencing the leaders of tomorrow with your hate, false accusations and unintelligent ramblings. Stop shunning your own LGBTQIA children and love them for who they are because I’m sure they wouldn’t choose to be bullied, shunned and cast out because they are the complete opposite of you and others. Don’t try to change them. Don’t tell them they’re going to hell because you yourself don’t even know where you’ll end up. Remember God is the only one who can judge us. So again, if anyone out there is completely without sin then please by all means throw that stone but I’m pretty sure no one will.

Thanks for reading…

The Southern Yankee

2 thoughts on “Day 18: Your View On Gay Marriage

  1. Like yours, my entry for this Day of truth was full of anger, too. I get mad when people twist and turn the bible so that it fits whatever racist argument they’re throwing forward. Not too long ago it would have been illegal for me to marry my husband because we don’t have the same skin color, and the ridiculousness of that was seen as unconstitutional. That law was overturned, so why is gay marriage still an issue? People need to get with the program and realize that we’re all equals.

    I think you illustrated your post beautifully by choosing the quotes that you did. Well done!

    Like

    1. It was a tad angry and hostile huh? I just… Sigh I’m not a huge advocate of marriage in general but just because it frightens me doesn’t mean I am going to stop others from jumping the broom! That’s none of my business nor is it fair. I was going/wanted to put something in this post about interracial marriages but I just couldn’t find a way to “fit” it into the post without it sounding or looking like filler. Thanks for the comment. I really appreciate it.

      Like

Tell Me What You Think...

