Day 17: A Book You’ve Read that Changed Your Views on Something

I started reading at a very young age. If I remember right, I was reading before I officially enrolled in kindergarten. I can honestly say I do not believe I have read as much as I should have by this point in my life. I have a journalism degree from Baylor University (SicEmBears!) and am working on a Creative Writing degree from the University of Houston (GoCoogs!) can you tell I’m über proud of my schools?! and I do not read nearly as much as I should. In recent years, I believe I have become very lazy in my reading. I started Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert maybe two or three Christmas’ ago and have yet to finish it.

So imagine my oversized and over analyzed dilemma in trying to write this post. Like some of my earlier posts, I have been mulling over Day 17 for what feels like an eternity. That’s until I started asking my friends about some books all of which I have never read they have read that changed their views on something. Their books gave me ideas but I still had not quite develop a concept for this post.

Then I spoke to my grand big thats fraternity speak and she, as usual, redirected me in a different direction and really made me think about the books I have read from a different view point. She essentially said instead of focusing solely on the message of the books but to really think about how the authors writing style impacted my viewpoint as well.

So here is two authors whose main ideas or even styles of writing that either impacted or changed my views on something.

One of my absolute favorite fiction writers in the whole world is Eric Jerome Dickey. He is the author of such books as Milk In My Coffee, Friends & Lovers, Sister, Sister, Between Lovers and Naughty or Nice. I don’t exactly remember which book I read first, but I finished them all within a week or two of starting them. From what I remember, each book is connected; if not as a continuance of the previously published book then by the characters. What fascinated me by his writing is how he’s able to pull the reader into the characters’ world without giving any advance notice or buying them a drink first. I was instantly thrown into their world and could not for the life of me get out. I fell in love with his writing style. I whole heatedly believe that he’s really the reasoning behind why I wanted to be a published author. What I learned from him was that writing isn’t simply about the words on the paper, typewriter, tablet or computer. It’s about engaging your audience and capturing their attention page after page.

Brownies is a short story by ZZ Parker. I actually read this story last semester in my English class. This story hit home into many ways. First of all, it is about a black Girl Scout troop who went camping. The girls who sound like second year Brownies manage to get themselves in more trouble than any of them really need to be. As a former co leader of an Ambassador troop and current co leader of a Cadette troop, I saw waaaaaaaaaay too many similarities between the troop in the story and my troops. I also imagined that if I had joined as a child, my Girl Scout troop would be much like the troop in the story. I would be the awkward shy one who just wanted to fit in but nothing I did would ever make me part of the cool kids. LOL Kids are so rotten to each other. I’m not quite sure if this story changed my views on anything but it did reaffirm that no matter others deserve the same level of respect, consideration and compassion as we demand for ourselves.

Thanks for reading…

The Southern Yankee

Tell Me What You Think...

