Day 13: A Band or Artist That Has Gotten You Through Some Tough Ass Days

Dear Mr. Houghton,

Wow… where do I even begin this “fan letter”?

Perhaps I should start here: Thank you! Thank you for all the times your music delivered me out of a horrible place. Thank you for sharing your journey with the world.

I discovered your music when I started attending Lakewood Church back in 2009. It had been years since I attended any church and to be quite honest, I never even thought I would one day be attending a church like Lakewood.

At that time, my entire world felt so very cramped and dismal. Nothing in my life seemed right and I did not know how to get back on track. Then I heard your music. It seemed like every song spoke to and moved me differently.

“Saved by Grace” and “Favor of the Lord” became my theme songs.

“Moving Forward” and “I Receive” without fail, especially when sung in church, always make me cry. I believe the Lord uses those songs to help me release whatever is hurting me at the moment.

I truly believe you were meant to spread the word of God through your music and your amazing spirit stirring sermons.

Thank you to your mother for not going through with the abortion. Thank you to you for being a willing servant of God and the rescuer of my soul and life through song.

Yours in Christ,

The Southern Yankee

Tell Me What You Think...

