Day 12: Something You Never Get Compliments On

I could sit here all day as I have with my previous eleven posts and mull over what to write for this post but what would be the point? My mind is drawing a bigger blank than Lindsey Lohan in a courtroom.

I am NOT by any means one of those girls who needs and/or fishes for compliments. On occasion, I will show off a new hair cut or a new article of clothing (i.e. the flyy boots I got for Christmas).

Don’t get me wrong, it feels amazing to receive a compliment but it doesn’t hurt my feelings if someone doesn’t compliment me.

So since I am at a loss for words or things I do not get complimented on, here are two things I would like compliments on:

  1. My work ethic – it needs improvement but some acknowledgement of how I currently handle and/or manage my work flow would be encouraging every now and then
  2. My writing – great alliterations, fantastic choice in words, blah, blah, blah. I’m sure this will come with time.

 

Thanks for reading…

 

The Southern Yankee

2 thoughts on “Day 12: Something You Never Get Compliments On

  1. You are a good writer. Your content is full of transparency and personality; you are relatable yet unique in opinion, story, and perspective. I truly believe the best writing comes from a place of truth and you are doing it. You are right that over time, as you build your community and refine your skills, the praise will come. Be warned that affirmation and confirmation of “job well done” will come from unlikely people and when you least expect it. Often we [writers] don’t get encouragement when we actually want it, but that’s okay because it always comes when we need it the most. Cliche? Perhaps, but it is the truth.

    Keep doing what you’re doing because it matters, okay?

    Like

Tell Me What You Think...

