And So It Begins…

Without fail it is the first thing I think about in the morning and the last when I got to sleep at night. It runs through my mind like a freight train in the middle of the night. It pierces my heart and soul with its intense unyielding nature. And it forces me to think with my mind and not my heart, to care when I know I don’t really give a damn and reevaluate when I’m being a stubborn red-headed step child. Yes I went there.

However, in the same breath, it nurtures, comforts, saves and gives me hope. I’m surprised every time we meet face to face. I’m astonished to see what it brings out of me. We have traveled and seen the many wonderful places this world has to offer. There have been many uphill rollercoasters and downward spirals. I have fought with it since the sixth grade; depended on it when I was in high school and my first stint as a college student and embraced it as a young hearted adult.

My heart’s desire and best friend is writing. Writing keeps me grounded and in check. It allows me to explore a side of me that I don’t always readily recognize or wish to encounter. It forces me to revisit and reevaluate my life from various viewpoints.

The Southern Yankee is an exploration of my world. I fully realize that other people have had worse shit happen and that I cannot possibly in my wildest imagination understand or identify with. I hope this new adventure will prove beneficial not only for me but for one and all. I can assure you it will not always I use that term loosely be about me. There will be a variety of other topics included in this blog; such as cooking, music, travel, higher education, and volunteerism just to name a few.

Enjoy and welcome to my world!

Tell Me What You Think...

